Can we eat better for less? 

As I get older (rapidly approaching my 40th, only a few more years 😲😬), I am starting to find satisfaction in the strangest of places. 

A few months ago, my partner and I moved from a small (very small) house with no garden, to a lovely cottage with a modest garden, which is completely decked… yay low maintenance! 

As I am something of a sun-worshipper, sitting in my new garden was proving to make me very happy, and within a few weeks I noticed that both of my olive trees were starting to thrive in their new home. Even though neither have produced any fruit yet, they are still young, it is looking likely that they may soon. 

It got me thinking… what could I grow in pots in my garden? 

I’ve already got mint growing like it’s out of fashion, so I thought Basil would be a great start… (plus basil reminds me of Greece and as I love Greek food it’s a winner). The basil has took off and grown like crazy, stinking out the garden with a beautiful scent … and cooking with home grown herbs, well you can’t get fresher. 

Then my father in law visited and gave me two tomato plants, both of which have flourished, and are looking likely to harvest some lovely juicy toms for my salads later in the summer!! 🤤 I love tomatoes!!! 

But I started to think more about this, and whether or not you could eat better for less by simply growing a few of your own herbs, fruits & veggies? 

I’m not naturally green fingered, I have to “google” everything, so as you can imagine, my search history looks pretty random at the moment, but I have some really fun experiments going on at the moment, even my partner has got in on the action. 

During a recent trip to Greece, my partner put some olive and orange pips in his pocket… not to keep but there was no where to leave them & we didn’t want to infest our room with ants, but anyway, in the midst of packing to come home, he forgot they were there (😬😲) and I found them as I was sorting through the washing. 

So…. I planted them 🤞🏻 and hoped that something might happen. Yesterday whilst tidying the garden, I had a quick look and noticed two minuscule shoots coming up from both the olive pips…. have I just created life??? 😲

Now it doesn’t stop there… because I currently have a handful of date pits to pot & a few acorns that have mysteriously appeared from someone, oh and not to forget three of the citrus family… lemon, lime & orange 😁 

So, although I am totally aware that this is a long term game, and fruits will not start to grow for a while, it’s kinda exciting… who knew I would get so much pleasure from growing my own fruits??? 

In the garden at the moment I have: 

  • Chillies
  • Olives
  • Mint
  • Basil
  • Chives
  • Tomatoes
  • Blueberries

Ready to pot & grow I have:

  • Oranges
  • Lemons
  • Limes
  • Dates
  • Acorns 

So, for those of you interested in growing your own, I am going to share the progress of this little life giving adventures via my blog, and hopefully, just maybe, these plants will give us fruits and we will be able to eat better for less! For now, that question remains unanswered in my life but I’d love to hear how you’re doing?

Do you grow your own in the garden? How have you got on and what have you grown? 

Let me know in the comments 😁 
Don’t forget to like & follow for updates on my green fingered antics 😁

